IMATS 2012

26 Jun

Image

This past weekend my girlfriends and I attended the International Makeup Artists Trade Show at the Pasadena Convention Center in Pasadena, CA. It’s an event that is open to the public and with a fee of $45, you get access to 40% off  of your favorite products. This is my 3rd year attending, but I had four first timers with me. When you go to an event like this, expect it to be like going to Disneyland in a number of ways: 1) you’re going to spend the majority of your time in a line 2) it’s exhausting and involves a lot of walking and 3) you’re going to be spending more money than you probably intended. What is great about going with a group of people is that you guys can really double team the brands. We’d all shout requests out to each other while we waited in separate lines.

What I love about this show is that it’s Sephora x 1000. You can find a whole range of products from a lot of brands, anything from a pro line to consumer products, all at discounted prices. They have models that get various looks done live by artists during the show, as well as, some attention grabbing elements…I’m not sure how muscle bound guys with the Stila logo plastered all over their half naked bodies are supposed to sell products, but it guarantees that droves of girls and boys will at least stop at the booth and take a photo.

ImageThe second show room was transformed into a special effects area with sculptures and maquettes from various movies. My person favorite were “Tea Time with Frankenstein,” Regan from the Exorcist and Bicycle Girl from The Walking Dead. They had a real life Nosferatu with a backdrop and studio lighting, I had a great time with him:) They also had a student competition where you could watch artists make their designs come to life.

Image

So, here comes the answer to question to most of you are asking, what did I get? I tend to stock up for both my personal and professional kits every year, that way I only buy products here and there throughout the year. I got a lot of stuff! I stocked up on Royal and Langnickel Brushes, which are my favorite! Along with this awesome red vinyl brush pouch/belt…so hot!!

Image

I got some awesome Smashbox products: a lip gloss set, some anti-shine and my favorite new thing: the Limitless Lip Stain and Color Seal Balm in Guava. It’s a coral orange shade, but against my natural lip color, it becomes this beautiful fruit punch/watermelon kind of shade. I LOVE IT! It’s double ended and has a felt tip that applies the stain and the other side is a balm that keeps lips soft and smooth. It has great staying power and doesn’t feather once it sets.

I stocked up on some kit essentials: Stila’s One Step Corrector, Two Faced Shadow Insurance (which is seriously the absolute best eyeshadow primer on the market), a Jane Iredale mixing palette, Beauty So Clean Makeup Sanitizer, MUD Volumizing tube mascara and some lashes and glues.

Image

Another stand out product this year is the new Set and Correct Baked Trio from Stila. This will seriously save me a lot of time in the studio during touch ups. It’s a baked setting powder in 3 correcting colors: green to minimize redness, peach to brighten and lavender for sallow skin. You rotate the dial and it shaves off even amounts of product. I can run into the studio and touch up a guest with ease with one product! No more carrying four different shades on me or a mixing palette. I just have to make sure that I am happy with the work done in the makeup chair and touching up in the studio with this product will be a breeze!. A product that works just as hard as I do? Awesome!

Image

Another of my new favorites is the MUD Dual Finish Pressed Mineral Powder. I bought this for my professional kit, but I tried it at home and decided I was going to keep it for myself. I just ran out of my Benefit Hello Flawless Powder Foundation and this product is a lightweight alternative. You can use it dry for medium coverage or wet for full. It feels so good on the skin and has some staying power.

My girls and I had a great time at this year’s IMATS! The best part is that we don’t have to wait a full year to do this again. 2013’s IMATS Los Angeles is in January! You had better believe, I’ll be getting my ticket soon!

Til next time Beauties and Studs!

xoxo

Amanda

 

 

2 Responses to “IMATS 2012”

  1. Benn Hua June 27, 2012 at 3:47 am #

    That was a pretty good read. Keep it up babe! Love you

Leave a Reply

