I’m Back with Get this Look, Products Lists and Reviews

12 Apr

Hello Beauties and Studs!

I have been gone for a while, completely lost in the Land of Live TV, but I’m getting back in the swing of this whole blogging thing. I wanted to start this off with a bang!

Today I’m starting off with posting a look and listing all the products I used to achieve the look with complete product reviews for some of the products below.

Enjoy!

And as always, thank you for reading!

Amanda

Get This Look!

Products Used

-Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream
-Benefit’s Hello Flawless Powder Foundation
-Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Evidence, 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Perversion
-MAC Blush’s Desert Rose and Coppertone with In the Abstract Highlighter Powder
-Fresh Sugar Rose Lip Treatment

Reviews

Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream

This is a 5 in 1 product that produces makeup ready skin. the amount of coverage you can achieve with this product depends solely on how you use it. Having said that, I should probably give you guys a little bit of Camera Ready Skin 101.

We’ve all seen it, makeup that looks like a mask, no skin shows through the caked on foundation and all you want to do is take your finger and drag it through the glop of product. While this is an aesthetic, especially in the Drag scene, it’s not what I would call “camera ready,” in fact, taking a photo with this stuff on your face looks chalky, like the makeup is sitting on top of your skin. This, by the way, is a freaking nightmare for HDTV cameras. When you think camera ready skin, these are the words that should come to mind: healthy, glowing, natural, even, balanced, radiant. What produces skin like this? A good layer of lightweight products on the skin to moisturize and prime it for your foundation. I’m usually looking at the following products: moisturizer, eye cream, primer, concealer, foundation, set the foundation with a powder…then apply the eyeshadow, blush, etc.

Smashbox’s Camera Ready BB Cream
, cuts my time in half by providing a tinted moisturizer with SPF 35 that also primes the skin for makeup, controls oil, and creates an even clean canvas for foundation. Since it’s only one product that does so much, you start off with a very thin layer of product that works as an anchor for the rest of your makeup. The beauty of this product is that, if you want light coverage, wear it alone.  For medium coverage, you can apply it and then dust yourself with your favorite compact powder or translucent and be on our way. If you want full coverage, you can use it under your favorite foundation. The best part is you end up using less of your foundation than you normally would because the BB cream already created a nice even canvas.  My current favorite combo is, the BB Cream lightly brushed with a powder foundation (ie. Benefit’s Hello Flawless) to more to set the BB cream, instead of covering it. My natural skin still shows through. I don’t look or feel like I’m wearing a pound and a half of product and the rest of my makeup is in place. I love this stuff. I recommend it to anyone who wants that look of camera ready skin without being weighed down by so much foundation. And this product also diminishes fine lines and wrinkles over time! This is product is this HDTV makeup artist’s dream and it can be your key to looking truly camera ready with one simple and easy to use product.

MAC’s Studio Fix Plus Foundation vs. Benefit’s Hello Flawless

Makeup artists around the world will agree that as a powder foundation, MAC’s Studio Fix Plus Foundation is the go to product. It’s a foundation and powder that provides matte full coverage in one step. You can even wet your brush/sponge to provide even more coverage for uneven, textured skin. This is why young girls experimenting with makeup will run to their local MAC counters, buy a compact and just layer it on. That being said, a young girl should never start with a full coverage product that is formulated for studio use!  Which brings me back to my point, Studio Fix is full coverage…period. You can feel it on your skin and looks cakey and almost too matte for HDTV. It’s not really buildable, as it’s meant to last 8 hours under hot lights. If you do want/need full coverage, Studio Fix Plus Foundation is the product for you. I use it everyday on my clients (standard def, not HD) and especially during big events like red carpet and weddings. It comes in over 30 shades and is very decently priced at under $30 for 0.52 oz

I love Studio Fix Plus Foundation, but I just didn’t want anything that heavy duty for myself. I don’t have the kind of skin that requires full coverage every single day. I used Bare Minerals for over 2 years, but found that on days where my skin needed a little more love, it failed to provide the coverage I need. When I went in search of a new powder foundation, I wanted the option of full coverage like Studio Fix, but I wanted it to be lighter in texture. I wanted something that would give me medium coverage when paired with a tinted moisturizer. My search was over when I found, Benefit’s Hello Flawless. It’s lighter, which means you literally feel like you have nothing on, it’s got a more natural finish, it’s buildable and it’s more HDTV friendly than Studio Fix. If you want lighter coverage, use the included brush to apply. For full coverage, use the sponge.  I’ve had mine for about six months and I’m about halfway done with the product. It is more expensive that Studio Fix, which is a bummer. It’s $34 bucks for 0.25 oz., so you get less than half of what you would get with Studio Fix, but it’s definitely worth it if you’re looking for a lighter product. It’s my current personal favorite and I would even recommend it to young girls starting out, if they a little more coverage than what mineral powders like Bare Minerals would provide.

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Perversion

I love this eye pencil. I love it more than some of the other eye pencils I’ve used. In fact, I’ll probably only buy this pencil from now on. It goes on smooth and creamy and is smudgeable, for under a minute, until it sets. When it sets, it becomes waterproof and doesn’t move. It stays on the waterline, except for in the outer corners where my eye tends to water a lot. It comes in tons of different colors, but my favorite is Perversion. It is the blackest black matte eye pencil on the market today.

The photo below has a swatch of Perversion (Left) and Zero (Right). Zero is the regular black pencil and is not as solid of a black as Perversion. To me, it has the same darkness and texture of a gel liner in a pencil, where as Zero comes on like a pencil and looks like a pencil.

Urban Decay Reformulated Eyeshadows

I have been using Urban Decay Eyeshadows since I was 18 years old. They had the boldest, richest, most highly pigmented colors I had ever seen. Each color was easily blendable and went smoothly onto the skin. My one complaint was that the glitter was too chunky on some shades and it would fall off and end up all over the place. They recently reformulated the shadows with something they call their “Pigment Infusion System” that basically anchors the pigment into the shadow itself. The result is an even smoother, richer colored shadow that blends effortlessl and the glitter it less chunky and actually stays in place! I was a fan before, but now I’m a superfan! These are a must have for any makeup junkie.

 

 

 

When I was 18, I was addicted to a shimmery dark navy blue shade called Goddess. It’s been discontinued, but Urban Decay suggested Evidence as a shade I might like. And thanks to my lovely friend, Bea, who gave it to me as a present, I have a new favorite. The color itself is a satiny rich blue.

 

 

 

 

 

I also love the new packaging. It’s a pop out piece that allows you to insert it into one of their new custom palettes. And it’s got their slogan, “Beauty with an Edge” on the lid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

